Bring in the Spring

I remember multiple people telling me that once you have three kids, all subsequent additions of children (4, 5, 6) were relatively easy… because naturally you know what you are doing and have done it before and it’s just easy right!?!? Well, I would like to dispel this rumor, I am not going to say that these people were flat out liars, but I think they may have been speaking from their own experience, which I am positive included a lot more spacing between each child. 4 kids 5 and under is not easy.  I think Jim Gaffigan nailed it when he said, “If you want to know what it’s like to have a fourth, just imagine that you are drowning and then somebody hands you a baby.”

I will say my appreciation for the baby phase has dramatically increased this time around. In the midst of the toddler noise pollution and hostage negotiations I seem to find myself in, he is like a slice of absolute heaven… which reminds me how much I love this blog post. Which points out that by your 3rd or 4th the baby is the “comfort in the chaos”. I honestly feel like I could spend all day making faces and funny noises at him and watching his eyes light up. The following video illustrates how I spend a good portion of my day.

But…Deep breaths. It is spring in Minnesota. There is nothing so incredible about suddenly being able to walk out your front door and feel sunshine… especially when you live in my house. Lighting in our rental home is pretty dismal, and often gives you the sensation that you are inside a small dungeon in the middle of the day. Winters here have been very oppressive, but not to worry… a bulldozer is coming to knock it down come July (another great story I should get around to telling soon). But the dungeon can not bring me down now… it’s spring and I’m letting it in.

I love watching my kids experience the magic of spring and be amazed at the wonder of life springing up everywhere. This year I felt that sense of childhood magic and wonder. At school my children’s teacher has some bud branches in a vase with eggs tied to it. And I thought, “Hey, I can do that!” So I did… and I felt really proud that I had one small decoration in my home. But then something happened and totally blew me away. The buds opened… in my dungeon, they sprung open and green life popped out. I just did not even realize that disconnected from the tree they would still open up. I was amazed that out of each tiny little bud there were like 13 leaves that began to grow… and they are still growing. Amazing. Inside that branch and that bud was life, and not just life… but nutrients, and information about how and when to grow.

IMG_0391

(wow this photo actually makes my dining room look sunny and inviting)

It was the same with our little plate of Easter Grass… just a few wheat berries laying on the dirt… add water and presto! Life. It makes me want to start scattering seeds every where I go, I just want to see the miracle over and over again.

IMG_0395

It is really important for me to remember the seasons, and with the turning of each one I reflect a little bit about the current season of my own life. Only a season to endure the challenges of the ages my children are… and yet ONLY a season to enjoy the really great things about it.

This is a little song the girls learned at school. I think the imagery is really lovely.

My lady spring is dressed in green, she wears a primrose crown.

And little baby buds and twigs are clinging to her gown.

The sun shines if she laughs at all,

and if she weeps the raindrops fall.

My lady spring, my lady spring.

Happy Spring.

About tacycall

I am a mommy of four little ones. Two girls (5 and 3) and two boys (3 years and 5 months) This only consumes about 95% of my life. I try to squeeze as much as I can into the other 5%. I am a stay at home mom with dreams of owning a hobby farm with my husband and recreating the garden of Eden in my backyard. I crochet , keep bees and spend time with my hubby, cook, read and of course do a little writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bring in the Spring

  1. Cherlyn says:

    Tacy, this was beautiful! You express yourself so well. Thanks for the into your slice of the world. And little Henry is so cute. I wish we could line up all the second cousins born in the last six months. Henry, little Carson, Laura, Finlay, Ellie. Mndy is due any day now and then our Emily and Cameron, then Danicia, and it just keeps growing and getting better.

  2. Cherlyn says:

    Ooops, I didn’t edit.
    Thanks for the glimpse into your slice of the world . . .

  3. Mary Krause says:

    What a wonderful blog!!! I can sense in your writing that the dead leaves of postpartum depression are giving way to new seeds of Hope. I know toddlers can be an exhausting work in progress. Continue to stop and smell the budding plants with them. It may be difficult to imagine now, but you will soon look back with fondness at this fleeting time while they are little. They grow up FAST, so try not to wish it away. You are an amazing, loving Mommy, and all this time and attention WILL pay off in the long run.

  4. Glad to read you had your baby. I hope all is well with you. I’m sorry we’re not in better contact. Be well.

    • tacycall says:

      Thank you Atomic Mom! Good to hear from you too. It has been awhile. Hope you and your boys are enjoying the spring too… Well almost summer now. I am also sorry our last distant conversation online did not go very well. Kind of you to reach out.

Leave a Reply

