4 Crying Out Loud

This was an oft heard expression of my childhood, I believe it was one of my mom’s favorite declarations of frustration. Which was a good alternative to using expletives or the Lords names in vain, both of which she was opposed to. You have to say it in a Minnesotan accent to get the full effect… Which is something like “oh fer cryin out lowd!” You could usually hear it uttered after one of three instances. 

  • When you take a seat only to realize that there is an impending need for you to get back up. For example siting down in your car and buckling up and realizing you forgot your purse.
  • The malfunction of almost anything. Salt shaker that won’t shake or shakes out too much salt… Car that won’t start when your in a hurry, jammed sewing machine, you name it. This also includes malfunction of mouth or silverware that results on food spilled on clothing.
  • Being inconveinenced by another person. In which the expression is uttered under the breath after said person has exited. Example telling someone to shut the door behind them and they leave it wide open in which case you have to do it. If you had to get up from a comfortable seat this crosses over to reason number one and it is said with added fervor.

The other day I found myself muttering this expression in one of my moments of frustration and ironically it made me laugh because I literally had 4 people crying out loud to me.

These under the breath expressions sometimes feel like my way to complain to someone as my role seems to be listening to everyone’s complaints. 

Interestingly enough the same day I ran to Walmart to pick up a few things.  Half of which I forgot because the baby started crying every time I stopped the cart and my brain shut off (an interesting and extremely unproductive side effect I experience when kids cry). Anyways as I rushed through the parking lot to try to get the baby in the van and get it up to speed so he would fall back asleep, a women knocked on my van window. I rolled it down in ten below weather only to have the baby intensify screaming. Then this woman began telling me a long drawn out story about her daughter and a surgery and needing money and she already had $20.00 but she just needed $1 more for whatever it was she was looking for… And as the story went on she cried louder and harder and tears filled her eyes and my babies cries continued to intensify. Finally I cut her off… “I have a quarter in my van and no other cash do you need a ride or something?” And immediately her tears stopped and she said “a QUARTER! A quarter isn’t going to help nobody” and she rolled her eyes at me and told me to take care of my baby. 

Oh for crying out loud!!!

Sometimes people ask me how I am doing, and honestly sometimes I don’t know how I feel except for frustrated that I am exposed to so many other people’s raw emotions all day it is hard to find my own. My kids remind me of this lady… Intensified emotion called upon at will and blasted at me until they either get what they are seeking or realize, as this women did, that I only have a quarter to spare or I frankly don’t care..

Hey that rhymed so now for an impromptu poem I composed….

4 little mouths crying at my feet, 4 little mouths that want something to eat. 1 little mouth proclaiming someone fell, 2 little mouths love to tattletale. 1 little mouth making farting sounds. 2 little mouths tell him to calm down. 1 little mouth screaming pain unbearable. 2 little mouths render toys un-shareable. 1 little mouth yelling pick me up. 1 little mouth from the bathroom shouts, “wipe my butt.” 4 little mouth snuggle up for a kiss. 4 little mouths when they are gone I’m sure to miss. 3 little mouths need to brush their teeth. Now shut your mouths and go to sleep.

I wrote this on a handheld device while wearing a baby sleeping in a carrier rocking back and forth with a 2 year old offering me pretend hotdogs… Needless to say there are sure to be typos.

About tacycall

I am a mommy of four little ones. Two girls (5 and 3) and two boys (3 years and 5 months) This only consumes about 95% of my life. I try to squeeze as much as I can into the other 5%. I am a stay at home mom with dreams of owning a hobby farm with my husband and recreating the garden of Eden in my backyard. I crochet , keep bees and spend time with my hubby, cook, read and of course do a little writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 4 Crying Out Loud

  1. Mary Krause says:

    I Heard Dee say, “For crying out loud” one day, and laughed! I know the source…it goes back generations. I don’t know when you wrote this blog, but I’m grateful you are still at it. It’s good for all our souls. You express yourself so well. Love you!

Leave a Reply

