Stuff that Happened

Well, it’s pretty much all fun and games around here until someone gets hurt, or breaks glass, or pees on the floor… always ruins my fun anyhow.

I read somewhere once that when trying to potty train your child it is helpful if they are sitting on the toilet and unable to go, to pour a glass of water in the toilet to simulate the sound and help them get excited about it. I am here to tell you that is NOT a good idea, because I tried it and now every time I use the bathroom Daphnie demands to be placed on the toilet and given a glass of water which she dumps all over everything. Not helpful…

I wish there was photographic evidence for all I am about to tell you, but the last few times I have tried to snap a photo I have been baby mauled. So hope you can use your imaginations on this one.

Chuck and I are trying to find a good balance with both of us doing work from home, it is quite the juggling act. The other day during one of my work times he came barging in the room in his towel carrying a baby in a diaper asking if I could help him. Turns out Fiona was across the street bare naked and crying. I was understanding of Chuck’s hesitance to go out and grab her… I am pretty sure our neighbors think we are weird enough. Scary thing is, besides the fact that my two year old knows how to unlock the door, and that she was naked in the cold… is that she crossed the street without us, heart attack city. We live at the bottom of a huge hill that gigantic semi trucks filled with rocks blast down all the time. So it was one of those things that made us laugh and want to cry at the same time.

Kind of like the other day when we were walking home from the park and I was trying to push Daphnie in the stroller up the hill while Fiona meandered behind us getting distracted by every fleck of dust to blow in the wind. She stopped to smell and pick some flowers… I continued to make my way up the hill until I notice that Fiona was extremely far behind us… with her finger up her nose. I asked her what she was digging for,  to which she replied, “the flower.”  I took a look inside her tiny nostril and could see a tiny stem which I pulled and it broke off, and then a hint of something yellow. Unable to get a hold of it I asked her to keep her finger out of her nose until we could get home and grab the tweezers. That request was completely disregarded and she spent the entire walk home jamming her finger in her nose (seriously if I had handcuffs I would have used them!)

When we got home I could not see anything, but asked her to blow out… to which she sucked in as hard as she could. Once we established what blowing out meant she gave me a few good snorts and I could see the hint of something again. I reached in with a tweezers and seriously pulled out a flower the size of a quarter. Chuck was so grossed out he wouldn’t even look at it, I was astounded… should have taken a picture of that one.

I have been washing sheets like I work at the Holiday Inn… I feel like I need to ban my kids from bathing because every time they take a bath they inevitably drink about a gallon of bathwater. Needless to say we always wake up to very soggy mornings. The other day I had just got done washing all the sheets and was getting ready to fold them up, when in walks naked Fiona who squats down on said clean sheets and pees. Really?!?!

ON a really positive note we had a friend take family photos of us last week. I have no pictures of us hanging up on the walls and had come to the realization that my feeble attempts to have someone snap a random shot of us were not panning out to be wall worthy portraits. So I was overjoyed when this was the result of our photo shoot. There are many many more that I love, but this one is great.

I ran a 5K this last week, the first race I had done since Grandmas Marathon in 201o. It was for breast cancer survivors and was a good reminder to me that I need to be better about doing self exams and all that good stuff. I ran in honor of my momma, who won her battle with cancer last year.

 Daphnie has just popped two new teeth through, so that makes six down. She has started enjoying a nice sippy full of milk now and again but shows absolutely no desire to stop nursing…. Which brings me to the personal dilemma of how long I want to nurse my kid for. I am hoping she will wean herself.

On November 4th they will announce the winners of the Gerber Baby photo contest. I really have a very small chance of winning, but I think about it everyday and dream of how great it would be to have a college fund all set up for my kids….

Other than that Fiona is really into eating sticks of butter and hearing stories from the Wizard of Oz over and over again. She is very intrigued by magic and witches and often asks me to tell her stories about scary things and getting owies.

I asked her what she wanted to be for Halloween this year and she told me that she wanted to be a blueberry, like Violet Beauregard from Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, she even requested little Oompa Loompas to roll her around.

I considered how funny it would be and wanted to make her dream come true and then realized that I did not have the time or energy to put something like that together, so we can all just imagine it right now in our minds.

Happy Halloween Everyone…. I will have to post pictures of the festivities later this month 🙂

 

About tacycall

I am a mommy of four little ones. Two girls (5 and 3) and two boys (3 years and 5 months) This only consumes about 95% of my life. I try to squeeze as much as I can into the other 5%. I am a stay at home mom with dreams of owning a hobby farm with my husband and recreating the garden of Eden in my backyard. I crochet , keep bees and spend time with my hubby, cook, read and of course do a little writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stuff that Happened

  1. James has been opening the front door here as well. We finally put the door knob guard thingy on it and that seems to have solved the problem. Can Fiona break those open at all? I”m just afraid he’ll open the door to a stranger or something. Blueberry = great costume! Daph can be her Oompa Loompa.

  2. Laretta says:

    Absolutely made me laugh out loud. Oh how I remember those “wonderful days” Thanks for the images. You guys look really great.

  3. Mary Krause says:

    Never a dull moment at the Call Mansion! You’re doing well, though! I would never have had near the patience you do…

Leave a Reply

