Happy Birthday Dee

Yesterday little Daphnie turned one. I wanted to show you the celebration in pictures, but I went to upload them and the videos from my camera this morning to find that they had somehow all been deleted. Every Single One. So sad.

Sorry Daphnie, I hope this post will suffice someday when you wonder about how the celebration was.

We decorated with purple… streamers, balloons and lots and lots of pictures of your 12 months of life. We made you organic Chocolate Cake topped with fresh whipped cream, blueberries and strawberries. Even though we had practiced, you didn’t seem to understand the candle and wanted to touch it, so dad blew it our for you. You carefully picked off all the berries first from your own personal cake… and delicately sampled some whip cream and with help from dad you tried the cake… but were less interested in it. Fiona was a good sister and was sure to help you eat it.

Your dad cooked tortilla soup for all our friends and the adults also enjoyed some yogurt parfaits because it seems in our social circle someone is usually wheat free, or daily free, or sugar free… so we try to cater to all desires 😉

You wore pink polka dot tights with a black tutu skirt and a shirt that said, “I am the birthday girl” And you looked so pretty with a little bow in your wavy brown hair.

You had fun playing with your friends, the balloons, and squeezing your new teddy bear that we got for you, he is almost your size and you were tackling him to the ground over and over again.

You had lots of presents to open because your Grammee Mary sent a huge box to you and Fiona full of toys, and clothes. Grammee Mary sure loves you and wishes she could have seen… and that your mommy would not have deleted all of the great footage she got of your opening said gifts. Both your greatgrandmas also sent you cards which you opened yourself… kissed and hugged and threw the money to the side (don’t worry it’s safe in your piggy bank).

Our friends Sara and Anastasia brought a huge parachute to your party and we went to the park with everyone to play with it. You had fun crawling under it and on top and looking at the bright colors.

You are growing up so fast, you are walking at least 8 steps at a time. You can say things like “Hi!” which you always make sure to say to dogs and kitties. You say cracker, bubba, mamma (all the time), and are really good at telling us when you are “all done” eating. Your laugh is contagious, and your six little teeth and so cute (and painful… you have started biting your mommy and think it is sooo funny).

 

You love your big sister (except when she takes toys away from you). One of your favorite things is when she finally wakes up from her afternoon nap and we get to go in the room and get her.

 

You love eating fresh garden tomatoes, spaghetti and drinking spinach smoothies with your scrambled eggs.

When you give kisses you make the kissy sound very exaggerated, and  they are usually open mouth and very juicy.

 

Often you wake up at the crack of dawn and come into bed with me and daddy to snuggle… but it ends up with you wanting to wrestle us and jump around.

You enjoy bathtime, early morning walks alone with mom and playing peek a boo. You love riding the three wheeler, and pushing the baby stroller. You are a fabulous little mommy to your babies you always give them kisses and sing rock-a-bye to them. You also love the song twinkle twinkle little star.

You remind me of something that I can’t quite express… like something straight from heaven that doesn’t have a name. Sort of like that feeling you get when you are sitting outside in the grass and the sun is warm on your skin and the wind blows your hair just a little and you are happy that you are alive… that’s what you remind me of. Your skin is soft and warm. I love squeezing you and nibbling on your little cheeks. I get so excited when I find something that makes you laugh and will do it over and over again until you lose interest.

Sometimes I try to sneak away from you to try and get things done and you always figure out where I am… I can then hear the sound of your four little limbs crawling full speed through the house and your frantic nervous crying for momma searching for me. Sometimes I do not reveal my location because I like the show (I hope you can forgive me, but I would never leave you for long)

I love you, hope you never forget it. Happy first birthday.

 

About tacycall

I am a mommy of four little ones. Two girls (5 and 3) and two boys (3 years and 5 months) This only consumes about 95% of my life. I try to squeeze as much as I can into the other 5%. I am a stay at home mom with dreams of owning a hobby farm with my husband and recreating the garden of Eden in my backyard. I crochet , keep bees and spend time with my hubby, cook, read and of course do a little writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Birthday Dee

  1. Mary Krause says:

    Tacy, that was a sweet way to remember her 1st Birthday. I am sad the pictures got deleted, but put her back into the outfit she had on and take a pic…it will still be authentic to keep for later…LOVED reading this. Love YOU, Love Daphnie & Fiona and Chuck! Hugs from MOM

  2. Sounds like a fun birthday! Can’t believe she’s 1 already, such a cutie. What in the world makes chocolate cake organic? Do tell.

    • tacycall says:

      So if you ever buy cake mix at the grocery store and read the ingredients you will notice that it has like 50 ingredients in it, one of which is propylene glycol… which I deem as one of those food ingredients that should never enter your body (see also High Fructose Corn Syrup and MSG). I recently discovered that the cake mixes in the health food section of my grocery store are organic, in that they are made with organic flour and such and only have like five ingredients (like flour, sugar, baking soda, cream of tartar… and something else.. maybe eggs or something) and much lower sugar content. Hence making it organic 😉 I will never buy regular cake mix again. However since I have started that new diet I have a really hard time eating any sugar at all without feeling like I got hit by a train the next day. My body no likey sugar anymore.

      • So making a cake by scratch would be considered organic too, right? I hate cake mixes, period. Yuck! I wish my body wouldn’t like sugar, but it just can’t want to 🙂

  3. Happy birthday to her. I think it’s fun that you’ve got a blond and brunette, variety 🙂 A woman I met a few days ago in her 70s was telling me that she used to nanny for a little girl named Daphne and it made me thing of you. I love that name, such a classic!

Leave a Reply

