This is how our garden grows

Our latest harvest!

 

This year was the first year since we have been married that we had a garden. We had some nice friends who offered up their backyard for a plot that we planted with four families. We have all been rotating to water and take care of it.

I was apprehensive at first about my ability to grow much of anything… but nature is a pretty remarkable thing… soil, sun, and water and BAM fresh produce.

Here is a little bit of a before and after on the transformation…

This is my friends kid Joshua holding a tiny tomato with a few freshly planted plants behind him.

And here he is among the same plants about a month later.

We have been getting a TON of stuff and I have been busy in the kitchen trying to find creative uses for yellow squash and zucchini.  Some times it seems there is not much growing but if you just wait a couple of days the food will attack you when you walk in… when I am there gardening I feel like I can hear the food growing… and all the happy bees doing their jobs for us make a nice little hum too.

Baseball anyone?

There is NOTHING Like a fresh garden tomato though and I have no problems eating every single last one that comes into our house. Seriously when you taste a garden tomato you wonder what the heck the perfectly round red orbs you buy at the store are…. they do not taste the same!

Seeing Red makes me happy

So we have been loving fresh salsa, and spicy peppers on just about everything. I am hoping before the harvest is done to make some fresh pesto with the basil or maybe brushetta.

I LOVE gardening such a happy part of my summer, I want to do it every year for the rest of my life.

 

About tacycall

I am a mommy of four little ones. Two girls (5 and 3) and two boys (3 years and 5 months) This only consumes about 95% of my life. I try to squeeze as much as I can into the other 5%. I am a stay at home mom with dreams of owning a hobby farm with my husband and recreating the garden of Eden in my backyard. I crochet , keep bees and spend time with my hubby, cook, read and of course do a little writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to This is how our garden grows

  1. Are you going to can or preserve any of it? I’m sure someone in your ward knows how and could show you. It would be sad to see any zuchinni go to waste! 🙂

    • tacycall says:

      LOL… I have a pressure cooker and know how to can, but I actually freeze zucchini. Well first I shred it in 2 cup increments (enough to make a batch of muffins) and then I bag it up. It is perfect for the huge baseball bat ones especially. I have enough in my freezer already to make 12 batches of muffins or 24 loaves of bread!!!

      • Megan says:

        Tacy, a random old lady stopped Eric in the street the other day and lured him into her garden (Hansel and Gretel, anyone?) but he scored a big zucchini and we enjoyed muffins that same night. The garden looks amazing, I’m happy to be surprised that things actually grew in that rock patch! 🙂 Love your blogs, give kisses to Fi and Daphnie for me por favor.

  2. Allison T. says:

    I’m so jealous! And I agree, garden produce does taste better! Hey, do you want to do a post on sugars? Like is making jello popcorn with honey rather than corn syrup really a much healthier option or is sugar sugar and still going to make me unhealthy either way? Does that make sense?

Leave a Reply

