Magnificent Morel

If you don’t like to mushrooms you can skip this post… because it’s all about them.

I have a friend (who we will call Mountain Man… or Guy on a Buffalo if you prefer). He grew up in Montana, he likes to eat buffalo, and shoot bow and arrows…. and he has lots of skills for survival and such. He is a good friend to have around. (plus he can make his own cheese and butter. Mmmmmmm BUTTER).

So my mountainous friend asked me the other day if I would help him sell some boxes of stuff he needed to get rid of on Ebay. With my great desire for projects, and my insatiable craving to dig through other people’s stuff, I accepted the job and asked to see some boxes so I could start digging through them.

What I received where two gigantic boxes filled with dried mushrooms. I was all like… you want me to sell old dried mushrooms???? In my head I’m thinking this is silly no one is going to buy these old boxed up mushrooms. But he assured me that people sell them all the time so, I began researching the Morel mushroom immediately.

Turns out people go nuts over these odd crinkly little fungi. Obviously he did too, if he had so many of them. Morels are “hunted” for in various regions of the US. I have heard of them growing in Montana, Idaho, Minnesota and Wyoming. They have a honeycomb like top and a very distinct flavor. Often they grow in areas where there have been fires, and are pretty selective on where they sprout up. The particular Morels that my friend hunted are from the Mission Mountains of Western Montana. He sun dried them and vacuum packed them (seriously like over 30 bags of them).

I had never even heard of them before, so I of course had to sample the goods.

When I opened the package I was hit with the smell… it almost smelt like cookie dough, or chocolate Chuck said. You have to re-hydrate them in water for a few hours.  The water turns dark brown and they become very rubbery and spongy. I was very skeptical that this combination of smells and textures was going to amount to anything delicous. I sauteed the in butter and served them with steak (for my hubby) and just a side of rice for me. Much to my surprise they did not taste rubbery (or like chocolate) but had this really distinct mild and smooth mushroom flavor. I saved the liquid that I re-hydrated them in as suggested in a website and made broth with them for a cream of mushroom soup… Mmmmmmmm MOREL Mushrooms I have never had a mushroom quite like them.

I love trying new things. It is amazing that there are so many foods I have yet to try. SO faithful readers I wanted to offer some of them to you. They are getting nabbed up pretty quick on E-bay but I have saved a stash for friends and family to purchase. We have bags ranging from 4 ounces to 10 ounces and are selling them for $5.00 an ounce which is a STEAL! On Amazon, they sell for  over $10.00 an ounce dried. And if you buy them fresh you could easily pay over $30.00 a pound. SO if you are a morel lover or are just in the mood to try something new write me a comment and I can contact you.

About tacycall

I am a mommy of four little ones. Two girls (5 and 3) and two boys (3 years and 5 months) This only consumes about 95% of my life. I try to squeeze as much as I can into the other 5%. I am a stay at home mom with dreams of owning a hobby farm with my husband and recreating the garden of Eden in my backyard. I crochet , keep bees and spend time with my hubby, cook, read and of course do a little writing.
This entry was posted in Food, Projects, Sweet Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Magnificent Morel

  1. Grandma Krause says:

    Hi Tacy,
    A lady I used to work with would pick morrels every year and sell them at the farmers market. She never had enough for the demand. I would like to try them ,but I know Grandpa wouldn’t eat them.
    Grandma

    • tacycall says:

      LOL… ya Grandma, Grandpa has very specific tastes and I didn’t figure mushrooms were part of that. Does he even eat vegetables? Just kidding, I’m sure a few make it down the hatch now and again. Tell Grandpa I love him by the way.

  2. So, you know that in marraige it’s give and take. Joseph give me his mushrooms and I gladly take them. I never have to share with anyone, because everyone else hates them at my house! Lucky me! I’ve heard about morrells on Food Network. Alton Brown once talked about them, then he fainted from the excitment. In Bulgarian they’re called “Gubbies”. Isn’t that a great word….glad you found some tastely gubbies.

  3. tacy, tacy… for heavens sakes… update your blog already!

Leave a Reply

