I see you…

In high school I spent a lot of time in the weight room doing strength and conditioning programs. At first it was to stay in shape for basketball season, and then after being cut from the team, due to my lack of seriousness and competitiveness, I kept it up to be healthy and hang out with all of the football players. We had one particular strength coach who loved to give positive reinforcement and really loved to push people to their limits to help them improve. You would find him walking around the weight room, clip board in hand, squatting down in people’s faces who were in the middle of a really hard lift, yelling…

“I SEE YOU WORKING!” 

There was a lot of other grunting and yelling going on in the weight room but that was my favorite thing to hear. It always made me and the other girls in there giggle, partly because we thought he was kind of cute, and partly because he always had morning breath and we knew the person he was yelling at could smell it. Yet, it made me feel good to know he saw my struggle and wanted me to succeed when he yelled in my face.

In this season of my life, my hard “lifts” usually consist of me trying to push a baby in a stroller, wrangle a toddler, and carry a tricycle up a hill in the middle of the hot afternoon sun. And I often notice other women working hard. So in light of the recent passing of another Mothers Day I just wanted to say…

I SEE YOU… moms whose kids have a melt-down in the checkout line over the tantalizing candy placed directly at their level. (DANG CANDY MARKETING IS EVIL!!!) I know that sometimes you say no to spare yourself the sugar rage that often follows, and sometimes because you don’t have a dime to spare.

I SEE YOU… trying to keep your kids from rummaging through every one’s purses and trying to ask strangers at the park for food.

I SEE YOU… struggling not to act embarrassed when your kid crawls under my bathroom stall to have a peek and say hello.

I SEE YOU… Starting to loose your mind when you have said, NO and DON’T for the 900th time that day.

I SEE YOU… trying to act happy and chipper when you have had little to no sleep.

I SEE YOU…  pulling a screaming child by one arm out of the middle of the church service.

sometimes I even SEE YOU… cry in public, there is no convenient time to loose it.

I SEE YOU…. changing diapers, and getting your hair pulled, legs tugged on, puked on, pooped on, peed on, yelled at, and occasionally bitten.

So often I want to reach out and help… but alas, I often don’t have a hand to spare.  But I see you working, and I hope you can feel encouraged by that.

But it aint all bad. I also see you getting big hugs and sloppy kisses. I see you having more fun at the zoo than your kids. I see your faces light up when your kid says please and thank you, or when they kindly share a toy with someone else. I see you bragging and telling all things that make you laugh each day. I look at your cute pictures you can’t help but take whenever something funny happens or when your kids look especially darling, and I know there are really really good moments too.

But I see you when it’s really hard. Keep up the good work.

About tacycall

I am a mommy of four little ones. Two girls (5 and 3) and two boys (3 years and 5 months) This only consumes about 95% of my life. I try to squeeze as much as I can into the other 5%. I am a stay at home mom with dreams of owning a hobby farm with my husband and recreating the garden of Eden in my backyard. I crochet , keep bees and spend time with my hubby, cook, read and of course do a little writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I see you…

  1. What a beautiful, thoughtful post Tacy! I heard something one and it’s resonated with me “we’re all doing the best we can.” Right!? 🙂

  2. Grandma Krause says:

    I loved this post and of course I love you and your beautiful girls. I wish I could be there to help you up the hill. Grandma

  3. Best mothers day post I’ve read.

  4. Allison says:

    That was beautifully said Tacy.

Leave a Reply

