Dive Delights

Image

I was really happy to hear that a lot of you were able to watch DIVE the documentary after reading my recent post about dumpster diving. Just wanted to post a quick update. This is what Chuck found the other night (including the potted white mums). We are discovering that you can almost always find eggs, bananas, and bread. This time there was also a Roma tomato mountain at Sams Club. The tomatoes were seriously in perfect condition. In addition to the red and green peppers and onions found, I am getting ready to whip up some salsa. Other dumpster delights that I have been cooking have been… German pancakes with all the eggs, Eggs bake with French bread crust, french toast, and lots and lots of fruit smoothies with all the bananas which I peeled and froze (6 bunches!) It makes me really want to go buy a Yonana’s machine. Has anyone tried that?!?

Someone asked about the safety of eating meat found in a dumpster, which is a good question. You don’t really know how long meat has been sitting in outside. We have opted not to get any meat during the summer months (or when it is hot out). During the winter time it is much safer as it is cold enough to in essence refrigerate the meat. 

About tacycall

I am a mommy of four little ones. Two girls (5 and 3) and two boys (3 years and 5 months) This only consumes about 95% of my life. I try to squeeze as much as I can into the other 5%. I am a stay at home mom with dreams of owning a hobby farm with my husband and recreating the garden of Eden in my backyard. I crochet , keep bees and spend time with my hubby, cook, read and of course do a little writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dive Delights

  1. Mary Krause says:

    Tacy, if you have a VitaMixer it will do the same thing! Just Sayin’

  2. Clarinda says:

    Thanks for the reminder! I think we’re definitely going to start a little dumpster diving during our drive.

Leave a Reply

