Tenacious Twos

You may or may not noticed that I have not been posting many mommy moments as of late. Well…. it’s been a little nuts round here, and my limitations as a human being are pushed to the brink on a near daily basis. So I often don’t feel like sitting down at the computer and reliving my craziness at the end of the day.

Tomorrow Fiona turns two years old.

I remember at one of my baby showers someone gave me the advice that I it is “OK” not to LOVE every stage that your kids go through. She told me that she really didn’t care for small babies, but loved her kids when they were more interactive. I would have to say that so far two is turning out to be my least favorite stage.

It is this crazy whirlwind of emotions when one second you feel like locking your kid in a monkey cage for a few days, but deep down knowing that you would do almost anything to ensure their happiness.

I just felt like I couldn’t let Fiona’s birthday pass by without making some sort of effort to capture in words who the two year old Fiona is.

Fiona is a spirited child. She IS who she IS and she makes no apologies. She is constant commotion from about 7:00 am to 8:00pm (minus Nap time… praise the lord).  Her delights in life include running around naked, being chased, and drinking from her bubba which almost never leaves her side. When she can’t find it she gets this nervous tone in her voice and starts asking over and over “where is da bubba, where is it, where is da bubba” once found there is usually joyous laughter immediately followed by the command that it be filled with water or cows milk.

Fiona getting ready to play outside in Minnesota.

She loves animals and is very gentle and sweet to them and is particularly fond of obscure animals like, the Yak and Tapirs. She loves going to Cabella’s near our house to feed the fish and look at the dead stuffed animals. Lately she has been telling me that she wants a dog.

Wearing a Polar Bear shirt sitting on a turtle.

She LOVES her grandmas, and all of her Aunties but especially Megan and Julia because they see her the most. Fiona has the incredible talent of remembering names, if you tell her once she will not likely ever forget, and will often ask me what complete strangers names are in stores or other social settings. She is super social and thrives in large groups (MINUS nursery at church which she loathes).

With Grandma and her fuzzy Rusisan Hat

She even takes the time to make conversation with inanimate objects around the house. I often hear her asking the space heater if it needs to go poo poo or is thirsty.  Her vocabulary and ability to express herself are astonishing for someone her age… and she is really easy to understand. She is even polite enough to scream to everyone, as we are departing a store in the midst of a meltdown, to “Have a NICE DAY!”

As of late she loves putting lemons in the shopping cart at the grocery store, watching huge dump trucks and diggers in the neighborhood work and watching Elmo videos about using the toilet and talking a bath.

Fiona dabbles in “the potty” (that expression has double meaning)… and knows how to take her diaper off, which amounts to me often carrying around a bucket of Oxy Clean. Because of her love of bubba she fills diapers like no other kid I have ever seen. Chuck and I often joke about how much each one weighs.

She HATES, getting her hair brushed, washed or styled in any way. She screams when getting her fingernails clipped  or getting dressed. She goes crazy if her pants touch her heels the wrong way or if her socks are positioned funny. She always takes her shoes off in the car, runs into the middle of the road when outside, and will literally put just about ANYTHING in her mouth (I have called poison control 5 times thus far). She dislikes being restrained in any way including shopping carts, car seats (I swear angels helped her on our 20 hour car ride home from Minnesota) and a mommy who needs to change her diaper.

Wearing Grandpas Hat

Some days her and I butt heads so bad, I wonder how our relationship will survive the coming years.

But I love her so much it hurts. She makes me laugh so hard when she is talking jibberish or giving me the play by play of the things she does. I love her goodnight kisses (partially because it means that another day is in the books), and the sweet little songs she sings to me. I loved sleeping next to her on our vacation (even though she repeatedly kicked me in the face) because I would wake up to her stroking my face saying “mommy’s here!”

I have always thought Fiona is a really incredible person. She is going to a really really beautiful incredible woman… she already is in a really tiny, cute, button-face way. I just hope we make it through two without any severe psychological damage to either of us.  Thank goodness we go to therapy!!

Happy Birthday Fiona, You are the first kid in our family and that makes you super brave and special. You teach me a lot about myself on a daily basis… things like, how many times someone can bang together glass candle holders before they break and I snap. Now we know, right. Love you.

*** and if someday you chance to read this and feel like I said some embarrassing things about you, just know that this post was HIGHLY censored for your sake.

About tacycall

I am a mommy of four little ones. Two girls (5 and 3) and two boys (3 years and 5 months) This only consumes about 95% of my life. I try to squeeze as much as I can into the other 5%. I am a stay at home mom with dreams of owning a hobby farm with my husband and recreating the garden of Eden in my backyard. I crochet , keep bees and spend time with my hubby, cook, read and of course do a little writing.
This entry was posted in Family News, Holiday's, Parenthood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tenacious Twos

  1. machellelush says:

    Happy Birthday Fiona!! This is so cute! She sounds wild and crazy, but she has great loving parents! I really enjoyed being able to read all about Fiona and her energetic ways. 🙂 Good luck Tacy! 🙂

  2. Mary Krause says:

    Fiona, YOU are my sunshine! You make me happy, when skies are Grey. You’ll never know, dear, how MUCH I love YOU! Happy Second Birhtday! You are so blessed to have such incredible, loving parents to teach you as you grow. So far, it’s been a delight to watch you in action!!!! LOVE and KISSES, Grammeemare

  3. Susie says:

    Tacy,

    You are one amazing mom! Thanks for sharing with us. Hope you can make it back to Minnesota sometime soon or some of us can come visit. Please tell Fiona HAPPY BIRTHDAY from her Kramer aunts 🙂

  4. Fiona is darling, happy birthday to her! Tacy, this is something really beautiful about this blog post. I can’t quite put my finger on it, I think it’s the way you wrote it. I bet Fiona will LOVE reading this someday (this comes from the woman whose mother never finished her baby book, haha!)

  5. Grandma Krause says:

    I love this Tacy. Some day Fiona will enjoy reading it, but so will you. It will bring back wonderful memories as she grows up to be the beautiful young woman like her Mommie.
    GreatGrandma

  6. happy birthday fiona! wish we lived close by so we could celebrate with you guys. i loved this post by the way, it’s always nice to know that there are other mom’s out there with very similar feelings regarding their kids!

  7. Maybe she and James should get together for a bubba and some screaming…he can’t seem to give that up….weirdo. I’m one of those that like the baby when they’re older and more interactive — screaming and all.

  8. Oh and Happy Birthday Fiona….be nice to your mommy.

Leave a Reply

