Pie for Dinner

I have been wanting to blog more about food. So starting now, I’m going to.

But first let me talk about bags

Last night I had a bag party… it was kind of like a tupperware party but for bags. You know, where you invite a bunch of people over and get stuff for free if they buy stuff. I don’t know how many people actually will buy stuff, BUT I did get some great bags including a new diaper bag (that doesn’t look like one), a wallet, a cosmetic bag and an organizing tote for my yarn! Boo-ya!

My yarn organizing tote... but mine doesn't say Wyatt Family. Available in 12 prints

My sweet new diaper bag.... available in two other stylish prints

If you want to check it out you can click on this link, but you can only shop under my name until tomorrow (Thursday)

BUT ACTUALLY that was only partially my motivation, I mean I LOVE cooking for people and I LOVE having company.  I don’t do it very often but when I do it brings me joy.

So what did I feed my crew of Bag Browsers?

The best cold salad I’ve ever had and some delicious varieties of quiche. Both of these things are toddler friendly in my house, Fiona loves “quiche pie” for diner.

Tri Colore Orzo Salad:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 lb orzo pasta
  • 3 Tbs extra-virgin olive oil, plus ¼ cup
  • 2 cups fresh arugula (about 3 oz)
  • ¾ cups crumbled feta or ricotta salata cheese
  • ½ cup dried cherries (I like a few more)
  • 12 fresh basil leaves, torn (sometimes I just use dried basil…just like 2 teaspoons)
  • ¼ cup toasted pine nuts
  • 3 Tbs lemon juice
  • 1 ½ tsp salt
  • 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper

DIRECTIONS

• Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat.
• Add the pasta and cook until tender, but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally
(about 8-10 minutes)
• Drain pasta and put the pasta on a large cookie sheet.
• Drizzle the pasta with 3 Tbs. olive oil, toss, spread out, and set aside to cool.
• Once orzo is cool, transfer to a large serving bowl.
• Add the remaining ingredients and toss gently to combine.
• Serve

Quiche:

INGREDIENTS:

  •  Pie crust (I just buy the frozen ones the deep dish ones are great because you can cram more stuff into them).
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 Tbl of water
  • 1 heaping Tbl of mayo
  • 1 Tbl of flour (I use wheat, white works too)
  • 1tsp of Basil ( or about three or four fresh chopped leaves)
  • 1 garlic clove pulverized
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • Vegetables of your choice chopped finely(some that I often use are grated zucchini, spinach, mushrooms, broccoli, red pepper, grated carrots)
  • Bacon or ham (optional)
  • Cheese grated (I use cheddar or swiss usually) (also optional)
DIRECTIONS:

1. Fill pie crust almost to the top with chopped veggies, and meat. Sprinkle with grated cheese if desired.

2. Blend (beat, mix, whip… whatever) the the eggs, water, mayo, flour,  and garlic seasonings. Pour over cheese and vegetables into the pie crust.

3. Bake for about 45 minutes at 350 degrees. To check and see if it’s done your can poke it in the middle. If it seems really soupy let if cook for about 10 or 15 more minutes. I also let it rest for a bit before serving.

About tacycall

I am a mommy of four little ones. Two girls (5 and 3) and two boys (3 years and 5 months) This only consumes about 95% of my life. I try to squeeze as much as I can into the other 5%. I am a stay at home mom with dreams of owning a hobby farm with my husband and recreating the garden of Eden in my backyard. I crochet , keep bees and spend time with my hubby, cook, read and of course do a little writing.
This entry was posted in Food, Sweet Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pie for Dinner

  1. i. love. QUICHE!

    when i traveled to europe, they had this all over and i became obsessed. i dont know why i’ve been such a dummy all these years by not ever making it! i’m totally gonna try this. thanks.

  2. I love me some quiche. It’s “girl food” to some people, but I just call it delicious! Those bags are darling, one of these days I’ll be buying one from your friend.

  3. Oh PIE!!! I love pie….pie, pie, pie!!

Leave a Reply

