Presenting…

Hats

Behold my beanies! There has been quite a yarn storm going on at my house as of late. Mass hat production has begun and I am finally going to start selling my hats. The above picture is a sampling of my woman’s hats… I make men’s hats too, pictures of those will come soon. (oh and I would just like to say that I took the above pictures of myself by myself holding a baby in a snowsuit and trying to keep a toddler from running in the road. YES I am superwoman sometimes!!!)

For the past two years or so I have been making hats, mostly as gifts for family. People have said to me that I should sell them…. But I always get so, well, ummmm, I don’t know, who would buy them, and  yadda yadda yadda.  Then these last few weeks people just started asking about my daughters hat and BAAAAM  I sold four just like that.

Then my sister up in Fargo (don cha know) asked if I would whip up a basket to send to her to sell at work. I have made about 30 hats this month alone!!!

It’s really exciting to me, I like the creative process. Plus I have had a hard time these last two years not working at all… let me rephrase that… working outside of the home (because we all know stay at home mommas be workin). I have talked to other women about it, some ladies just feel super satisfied and happy to be a mom. But I always have this yearning to be doing something in addition to the mom gig, yet I don’t want to work away from home. Obviously with my schooling in Nutrition my dream job is NOT to be a hat designer… BUT I do like crochet and I need to fund my next Nutritional endeavor which will give me the skills I need to have a private consulting practice.

So, coming in February there will be a store on my Blog where you can buy hats with a credit card or pay pal and all that jazz. Until then I want to get feedback, especially on color schemes, I like ideas. I am hoping to have an option set up where people can design or customize their hat… like pick the color, style, flower and whatever else they desire.

When my store goes live I am going to have a hat giveaway!!!! And since I estimate that only about 40 people or so read my blog that GREATLY increases your chance of winning 🙂

Oh, isn’t it so happy… happy hats and happy heads and big happy flowers on heads, and hearts that are happy because of happy hats.

Ok… I’m done now.

About tacycall

I am a mommy of four little ones. Two girls (5 and 3) and two boys (3 years and 5 months) This only consumes about 95% of my life. I try to squeeze as much as I can into the other 5%. I am a stay at home mom with dreams of owning a hobby farm with my husband and recreating the garden of Eden in my backyard. I crochet , keep bees and spend time with my hubby, cook, read and of course do a little writing.
Image | This entry was posted in Crafts, Projects, Sweet Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Presenting…

  1. Deanna says:

    beautiful hats Tacy!!

  2. Tacy, you are amazing!

    I am cracking up over here about the Fargo comment, love our Minnesota accent now ;p So glad selling has already started to happen for you. I’m not sure if you know, but I recently started selling prints of my photography on Etsy. I’m not sure if you’re going to use Etsy to sell your hats but I would encourage you to do so. I have had only positive experiences with them so far.

    My cousin’s darling wife is a stay at home mom. She has a masters in education and worked as a teacher before having their first baby. She told me last year that she just really yearns to contribute financially to her family and have an outlet, so for a few hours a week she tutors disadvantaged kids on basic reading and math skills. Her cute friend (who is LDS) watches her son and they do trades to make it work. I think every person must find the right balance for them. I’m glad you have!

    I would love to purchase a hat! Seriously! Looking at the photos above the one I’m really drawn to is gray with yellow flower. I cannot wait until you put up your site, I’ll probably be your first buyer. What can I say, it’s cold here!

    • tacycall says:

      Katie, thanks for showing interest… and for the tid bit on Etsy. Originally I was going to use the Ecwid widget and set up a store on my blog, but it turned out to be too complicated for someone with my limited time and computer know how. So I am in the process of getting everything set up on Etsy. It is way more user friendly!

  3. Mary Krause says:

    The Hats look fabulous…I LOVE mine!
    Love,
    Mom

  4. When you get that paypal link up, let us know…. 🙂 I wonder if your time in Los Alamos got the knitting into your blood…after all we do knit in church. 🙂

    • tacycall says:

      LOL. I used to get ticked off as a missionary when I would go to church and half the ladies had their needle work out. As a non missionary I think it’s funny but don’t get nearly all out of sorts about it. It was actually the former sister Hooper who got me into the needle work. Fancy that.

  5. Nicole M. says:

    Cute, Tacy! I love the little flowers and your color combinations look great to me. What kind of yarn do you use? I’ve got a stash of yarn that is isn’t quite enough for a knitting project but might work for a baby hat.

    • tacycall says:

      I always use 100% cotton for baby hats. I suppose you could use different types but I find that cotton is the least scratchy on the head.

      • Nicole M. says:

        Would you want some of my cotton stash? It’s mostly worsted weight, but I can see if I have other types. I used to make dishclothes out of it but found that I like plain white for dishclothes better. E-mail me if you’d want some and we can figure some time for me to drop it off or meet you.

Leave a Reply

