Zap Fry Bye Bye

This week I got rid of my microwave. No more nuking. It has been an ongoing mental debate with me for some time. I am sure many of you are aware of the microwave conspiracy theory’s that exist.

I was first introduced to the idea that microwaves are abominable when living in New Mexico as a missionary. It was a seemingly unlikely couple. They were older and had both grown up on farms. The husband was one of those huge men with hands that looked like bear paws and a deep jovial laugh. He cried whenever we sang and LOVED to eat good home cookin. In a lot of ways he reminded me of what Santa Claus is probably like.

One of his favorite foods was “tater pigs” and “tater dogs” which if you are unfamiliar… and I am sure you are… is a raw potato with a hole drilled through the center (with a drill mind you) and a sausage (pig) or hot dog shoved in said hole and then baked in the oven until the potato is good and saturated with meat fat.  This was also the home where I enjoyed my first piece of “Oooey Gooey Oatmeal Cake,” and learned what a B.D.S. was. (B.D.S. stands for butter delivery system, which for example is what bread is… it’s a way to get butter into the body in large quantities).

So with such fine culinary tastes you can imagine my shock when I was given a 20 minute lecture one night for mentioning that I heated up leftovers in the microwave. Because this conversation happened almost five years ago I do not remember all of the details, however I wish I had recorded it because there was some reference to Nazi’s and The Russians with regard to microwaves being a conspiracy for evil. 

Needless to say this conversation had an impact on me and caused me to monitor my microwave use ever since.

You have to wonder when people tell you to not stand near them when you are pregnant. What kind of effect are they having on the food inside? I mean if a microwave can mess with a fetus what does it do to leftover chili? Then there is the weird stuff it does to plastic containers…

Not to mention as a Nutrition student I learned about the effects that cooking can have on nutrient content of food. For example boiling vegetables can cause water soluble vitamins to leach out, light can degrade vitamin D, deep fat frying can create cancer causing compounds like acrylamide in potatoes (sorry french fries but you are evil too). So it stands to reason that zapping radiation into food would have some sort of effect on the nutritional content.

For years I have debated whether or not I beleived the conspiracy or even cared. I mean sometimes when you want to eat you want to eat like right NOW! However, as Brian Regan (comedian) once stated in a skit about Pop Tarts, if you need to zap fry your food you might want to loosen up your schedule.

Ultimately my choice came down to the way I felt. I mean seriously I started to feel guilty and uncomfortable when ever I used my microwave… I don’t need microwave guilt, I have enough to deal with!!!

SO it is in my closet, if you want it feel free to come over and take it!!

It freed up a ton of counter top space (which I now can fill with more dirty dishes), and I feel so much better when I feed my kid oven warmed food. Plus the oven makes leftovers just a little bit crispy on top… aint no microwave that can do that.

And just for fun here is the recipe for the Oooey Gooey Oatmeal Cake, which as you can tell from the name is not a health conscious treat. I recommend preparing stuff like this when you have company so that you don’t end up eating it all!!!

1. Preheat Oven to 350.

2. Pour 1 and 1/2 cup boiling water over 1 cup quick oats or regular oats. Let stand 20 minutes.

3. Cream: 1/2 cup butter, 1 cup brown sugar* and 1 cup white sugar*. Add 2 beaten eggs, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and mix well.

4. Add: 1 and1/2 cup sifted flour (can use wheat), 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon soda, 1 teaspoon baking powder.

5. Add soggy oats and mix well. Pour into a 9X13 pan and bake 35 minutes at 350.

6. While baking make topping: 1 cup sugar*, 1 cup butter, 1 cup coconut, 1 egg, 1 cup chopped nuts, 1/4 cup evaporated milk. Beat egg, add milk, add rest of ingredients. Boil for 2 minutes, add a dash of vanilla.

7. While cake is still warm spread on topping.

(*NOTE I try not to use sugar, this cake is also good with Honey as a substitute, or you could try real maple syrup too… just remember that you would not use the full two cups more like half if even that.)

 

About tacycall

I am a mommy of four little ones. Two girls (5 and 3) and two boys (3 years and 5 months) This only consumes about 95% of my life. I try to squeeze as much as I can into the other 5%. I am a stay at home mom with dreams of owning a hobby farm with my husband and recreating the garden of Eden in my backyard. I crochet , keep bees and spend time with my hubby, cook, read and of course do a little writing.
This entry was posted in conspiracy, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Zap Fry Bye Bye

  1. Mary Krause says:

    I have been trying to let my microwave go, but I’m afraid Gary would throw ME out! Lol! It shall take some talking and convincing to get it out of here…

  2. Reuben says:

    How about a toaster oven? all the benefits of a full-sized oven, but much quicker and easier to manage. Great for making toasted sandwiches.

    • tacycall says:

      Toaster Oven are alright by me… it’s just one more thing on the counter. I also do not appose George Foreman Grill’s, Pannini Presses, or flat top grills. It’s mostly just about the radiation in the food.

  3. Love your new blog 🙂 I didn’t know there was so much about microwaves, but of course it makes sense. I don’t have one. They are huge, not a way I cook generally and pretty cumbersome to clean. I just warm stuff up in the over and if I am dying for popcorn? I make it on the stove the old fashioned way. Imagine that!

  4. Haha, I lived for a year and a half w/o a micro…it can be done, but I love it too much to ever want to choose that on a permanent basis. Gotta love New Mexicans, we have some werid stuff going on here, and in the water too. Although, I did gack a bit at the “tater pigs”…I guess it must be my pregnancy induced aversion to processed meat right now…seriously, gacked in my throat a bit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

