Thank you Quick and Easy Medical Terminology

Last night I finished one of my classes for the semester! It was a self study course that you could do at your own pace. I decided to crank out my last two exams and quiz last night after a day of studying. The course was on Medical Terminology and taught the Greek and Latin roots of words that help you to understand medical terms in a quick and easy way (oh how convenient!).

I do feel very well versed in the medical terms which I think is important for anyone to know… I mean how frustrating is it to go to the doctor if you don’t understand what they are talking about. However the main thing I took away from this class was a list of diseases and disorders I am glad that I don’t have and hope to never contract in my life. Here are just a few, in no particular order:

  • Kyphosis– A condition commonly known as humpback or hunchback
  • Dysphagia- Inability to swallow or difficulty swallowing.
  • Trichosis– Abnormal condition of hair growth, including baldness or excessive hair growth in an unusual place
  • Exophthalmos– Protrusion of the eyeballs

And here are a few self diagnosis of my current health condition:

  • Polyuria – Excessive urination… especially in the middle of the night.
  • Polyphagia– Excessive hunger and uncontrolled eating
  • Cephalalgia– Headache
  • Narcolepsy– Sudden attacks of sleep that occur at internals

The above was not meant to be a complaint… I am quite enjoying my pregnancy these days. Feeling the baby move is really exciting and makes everything else seem like no big deal.

About tacycall

I am a mommy of four little ones. Two girls (5 and 3) and two boys (3 years and 5 months) This only consumes about 95% of my life. I try to squeeze as much as I can into the other 5%. I am a stay at home mom with dreams of owning a hobby farm with my husband and recreating the garden of Eden in my backyard. I crochet , keep bees and spend time with my hubby, cook, read and of course do a little writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank you Quick and Easy Medical Terminology

  1. Thomas says:

    This is only funny to me because I knew all of those terms and suffer from 3 of them regularly. Hilarious, and now I feel smart.Thanks for the ego boost. Glad all is well.

Leave a Reply

